

# St. Martin Parish School Board

P. O. Box 1000 Breaux Bridge Louisiana 70517

Applications for Majority-to-Minority Transfers are now available

#### Who can apply?

Kindergarten through 12<sup>th</sup> grade students can apply. To be eligible for a Majority-to-Minority ("M-to-M") transfer, the student's race must be in the majority at the student's zoned school for the 2023-2024 school year. Majority means that over 50% of the students at the school are the same race.

#### What does the M-to-M transfer do?

The M-to-M transfer allows a student whose race is in the majority at his or her zoned school transfer to a school where the student's race is not in the majority, as defined by the Consent Order.

\*Please be aware that if, as of MAY 1, 2023, if your child's race is not in the <u>MAJORITY</u> at your residentially-zoned school AND in the <u>MINORITY</u> at the requested school, the application will not be approved.

\* Students who are currently M to M students should reapply only if they are moving to a new school.

## When can I apply for the M-to-M transfer?

The M-to-M application period is currently in process and ends at 4:30 p.m. on May 1, 2023. It is most advantageous for your child to apply during this window so that transportation arrangements can be made in advance. Applications will not be accepted after May 1, 2023.

## Where can I complete the M-to-M transfer application?

Applications can be filled out online by visiting <a href="www.saintmartinschools.org">www.saintmartinschools.org</a> or Using a paper application made available at all schools within St. Martin Parish or 625 Corporate Blvd, Breaux Bridge, La. 70517.

# **How can I find out more information about the M-to-M transfer process?**

For more information, please visit "http://www.saintmartinschools.org" or call Kevin Bonhomme, Supervisor of Child Welfare and Attendance, at 337-909-2819

Telephone 337-332-2105 Fax 337-332-3050

ALLEN BLANCHARD, JR. SUPERINTENDENT

RICHARD POTIER PRESIDENT

MARK HEBERT VICE PRESIDENT

- DISTRICT 1 STEVE FUSELIER
- DISTRICT 2 WANDA B. VITAL
- DISTRICT 3 EDNA M. JOHNSON
- DISTRICT 4 JIMMY DURIO
- DISTRICT 5 RUSSEL C. FOTI
- DISTRICT 6
  MIKE CLAY
- DISTRICT 7
  RICHARD POTIER
- DISTRICT 8 FREDERIC STELLY
- DISTRICT 9
  FLOYD KNOTT
- DISTRICT 10
  MARK HEBERT